a-ha The Sun Always Shines On Tv

How to make that sound...
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello there. :)

This is my first time posting on this Forum. So I am sorry If I am posting this in the wrong section.

I was just wondering If anyone here could possibly help me find out what these sounds are?

Here is the Video :) -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3ir9HC9vYg [ I tried the URL Function but it doesn't seem to be working correctly. ]

The following sounds I am looking for are -

That Oboe sound at the Start during the Intro [ I believe that is an Oboe Synth but with heavy reverb as the original sound itself is very flat and mechanical sounding ],

The Piano at the start [ I am sure this must be from a DX7.. Or maybe a PPG Wave? ]

And the Strings during the Chorus at 2:13 to 2:28[ Hold Me, Close To Your Heart, Touch Me, Give All Your Love To Me ]. These are what I am really hoping to find. :)

If there is anyone who knows how to even re-create these sounds, It would be extremely appreciated and helpful. :D

I am aware that a-ha used a DX7, Juno-60 and PPG Wave during the song If that helps. :)

Sorry for the long post, Hehe.

They'll be samples they will.

Aha had a habit of creating demos (some of which are now on spotify :D ) and then re-recording with other gear.

Greatest band ever :love: :oops:

I'm not sure either but the video gives clues to heavy DX7 and PPG Wave use. Might even be layered sounds.

I must confess, I'm a close a-ha fan, especially the parts produced by Tony Mansfield which me thinks is one of the unsung heroes of electronic dance music, kind of pioneered the hard compression sound far before Daft Punk and a lot of vocoder pop and similar electro pop production techniques came from the early New Musik tracks.

Glad to see so many a-ha fans :D

If they are samples then I am probably out of luck. Would mean it came from a Synclavier that I read about the Studio having.

If they aren't then it could be either of the Digital Synths.