Akai MPK Mini any good?

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

It's pretty much everything I want rolled into one. I'm no big time producer, so it should suffice. Are there other alternatives I should consider around the same price range? (+- $50)

Listen to my music on:
http://soundcloud.com/mischjok

:)

I've been using it for about 8 months... the keys and pads could be better. It's difficult to play anything with nuance and feeling, but it's a robust piece of kit overall. Especially when compared with the Korg Minis (ver.1).

I'd give it a test run first, though.

Last edited by ghettosynth on Thu Jul 10, 2014 7:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

That lil'thing is awesome, I tried it, and want to buy it ASAP

davidka wrote:That lil'thing is awesome, I tried it, and want to buy it ASAP
for me it is too small

I've been using the predecessor for a while in the form of the LPD8 and LPK25. Was quite interested when I saw they'd joined them together for a good price. Presuming that it's more or less the same bits of metal and plastic inide I'd say that it's good. The main frustration for me with the keyboard has been the lack of performance controls apart from a sustain button. Pads have been OK but have not had much use, you have to hit 'em hard to register.
Overall been very happy with them though.

Thanks for the response guys. Hmm... I'm pretty convinced right now. Are there any other alternatives though?

Coldfingaz wrote:Are there any other alternatives though?
Novation Impulse and Nucturn.
"Music is spiritual. The music business is not." - Claudio Monteverdi

great replacement for my two korg nanos, but there are some serious gripes that are already listed. you can't get everything perfect with these little devices, but i think they should've assigned two of the rubber buttons to pitch bend. i am going to figure out how to do this on my own.