MeeBlip anode - compact bass synth w/analogue filter

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Last edited by Shabdahbriah on Wed Nov 27, 2013 2:07 pm, edited 3 times in total.
I'm not a musician, but I've designed sounds that others use to make music. http://soundcloud.com/obsidiananvil

That looks great! The intro preorder pricing is also very nice!

Chad@PA wrote:That looks great! The intro preorder pricing is also very nice!
Indeed! Sounds cool too. (IMHO)

http://soundcloud.com/cdm/sets/meeblip- ... irst-sound
I'm not a musician, but I've designed sounds that others use to make music. http://soundcloud.com/obsidiananvil

Too bad that this one has got lost, deserves a bump 8)

And another bump, because I just got one used from eBay. :phones:

My first impression after playing with a it a couple of hours is that it strikes me as really... basic. I mean, that should be obvious coming in. While it's not a bad synth for the price by any means, it's not a big, fat, wet sound. For a "bass synth" it isn't earthshaking. The filter has some squeal and character, but it's not exactly brutal. Via MIDI CC you can dial in some envelope modulation of the filter but it's still the same AD envelope as the VCO. It doesn't have a wide sonic palette. (This particular unit is still on the Anode v.1 firmware so it doesn't have the wavetable option yet, just the pulse oscillators; I will probably upgrade that tonight.)

I haven't used a hardware synth since the Korg DS-8 from 1986. With software I'm used to being able to just dial in more -- unison or an edgier waveform or more modulation or some built-in effects. So the Meeblip is making me take a different approach: how do I make the most of this limited synth?