using korg volca with a DAW

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

hi, is it possible to to connect the volca to a PC and record it in a DAW?

i am a novice concerning this, but i'd like to save any decent basslines/loops i make with it in a DAW so i do not lose them - and can eventually construct a track.

i assume i cannot load (recall) anything i save into the DAW back into the volca given its analogue nature? is this true?

I think you can save a 1 bar loop into the volca itself, but i don't want to overwrite the defaults yet.

can anyone shed some light on this?

and how can i achieve recording into a DAW?

thanks.

It'd be the same as recording any other external audio, from microphones to guitars. Hook up the instrument to the inputs of a soundcard, arm a track in the DAW, hit record.

To be any mroe specific, you'd have to include more information, from the DAW you're using, to the soundcard you expect to use.
my other modular synth is a bugbrand

Most DAWs allow you to define unused audio inputs as external synths. This is what I have done. I have a lot of inputs and outputs in my studio so I used a mono input for each of my Volcas. I have a lot of midi connections available so each Volca gets a midi out as well which my DAW sees. The Volcas can receive midi clock from the DAW via the midi connection. You can sequence on the Volca and have it tempo locked to your DAW and record the audio via the audio input on your DAW.

The Volcas also receive midi note information vias MIDI along and some limited controller information therefore you can also sequence within your DAW and record some automation.

My preferred method is to sequence the Volcas from my DAW, I like to setup a long repeating sequence or melodic line, and mess with the controls on the Volcas as the audio is being recorded into the DAW. You can them chop your recording into loops and do all kinds of stuff with them once the audio is captured. (layering etc)