any advise on headphones amp?

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi guys,
I just got a sennheiser hd650 and the headphone output from my rme multiface is not enough.
So I was thinking about getting an amp.
I'm new to this stuff so can you advise me a good amp?price range up to 200 eur
any experience?

thanks!

Here is one I use for HD650 and works well(€119).
http://box-designs.com/main.php?prod=he ... er&lang=en

Good enough for up to 300 ohm phones, but if to get something that do 600 ohm for future it's not enough I think.

Caution is to lower output about 12 dB or so - as I can do in RME headphone outs.
-10 dBV would be fine as well, but +4 dBu is not.

It's designed for 0.3V outs like from hifi amp record out.
Not clipping, just feeling compressed if signal too hot.

Articles on levels here:
https://web.archive.org/web/20160102151 ... igital.htm

I use Sennheiser hd650s with my RME Fireface headphone out and they are loud enough for me, what’s the problem?

for mixing it's not enough form me..if I listen to mastered track it's ok
I dont know but I would like a bit more..

What difference does it make, is it just loudness or something else?

it is loudness, but I got the impression that if it was louder by a couple of db the headphones would respond better so is is loudness but also responsiviness..as I said just feeling, I might be wrong..

is it ok for you?I guess the multiface and fireface have the same headphone output
Ok, I have to say that my hearing is not perfect as I had problems in the past.

the thing is that, although I have some kind of treated room and good monitors the sound is shit(really shit in the lowend) I mean with headphones I can mix hundred times better than with monitors. So for now I have to mix with headphones and I'm trying to get the flattest response possibile(paired with reference by sonarworks which I think is great)