Sonic Birth Documentation Project (anyone interested?)

Official support for: sonicbirth.sourceforge.net
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello,

Since Sonic Birth is open source, perhaps we can get together a group of folks who would be interested in actually creating some solid documentation that would include examples, tutorials, etc? I'm pretty frustrated with the manual - it is too bare bones.

So, if anyone here is interested, please respond to this post. I've got a pretty elaborate project I've been working on for a few months now (I was aiming it at the Developer Challenge, but I got too busy with other things to finish it so far - made some good progress this weekend) so I could contribute some to the documentation project, plus I've written technical documentation before.

- JOel

I'm interested.

I've been using Sonic Birth for 2 years now and I have learned quite a bit about it. I understand all of the modules. Because of my background in physics/math, my particular strength would be in explaining how to use many of the math functions to get what you want out of the program. I've built envelope generators from scratch using just calculations on the waveform and then I've used these in some custom compressor circuits that sound great.

I've had great luck using the "points" function as well to get some terrific compression curves. Count me in

This is a great idea.

You can take the current documentation as a starting point, or create something new from scratch. I would suggest using NeoOffice and the OpenDocument format to make sure everyone can contribute without having to buy something.

I'm no good at writing doc because I'm having a hard time seeing things from the user point of view. I prefer concentrating on the code.

- mak

dscro wrote:I'm interested.