sitar model (download available)

Official support for: xoxos
RELATED
PRODUCTS

a few months ago i posted these files of a sitar model:

http://www.xoxos.net/temp/sitar.wav
http://www.xoxos.net/temp/sitar2.wav

i've been promising it for a few months and occasionally people have asked for it, so here's the official word on it:

no sitar model vst :)

the distinctive 'twang' is produced by interaction between the string and the curved bridge. when the string vibrates, it hits the bridge and shortens the string length.. if you listen to it "informedly," the sitar tone is ~a musical tuning of a 'vibrating against something' sound..

computationally, the fact that the string amplitude affects the string length in realtime is problematic, as the current string length is required to compute the output/amplitude.. ;)

you may remember another audio file i posted, wherein the string would 'catch' and sound infinitely. given my development method, it was through trial and error that i found coefficients that produced, under circumstances heard in these two 'good' demos, emulative tones, ie. twangy, with a decaying tone.

ftr, in these examples the string is oversampled twice, and the output is used to compute the string length for the next sample..

basically, it was a stroke of luck.. increasing the oversampling had the same effect as lessening it.. a less emulative timbre, more plucky than twang.. aamof, anything i did worsened the model.. emphatically, i found that the plucking impulse only produced the amount of twang heard within narrow guidelines, so that changing the impulse did not alter the timbre as predictably as it does in other karplus-strong models. adding high frequency (eg. noise) would diminish the jawari effect but not add any brightness to the timbre.

so that sucked.