Sustain pedal works with computer keyboard, but not real keyboard

RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello all,

I'm new at all this. I just installed Cantabile 2.0 lite. I've successfully connected a Roland 3000s (very old) digital piano to my computer via a USB adaptor. At this point:

1. The piano keyboard successfully transmits MIDI to Cantibile. The indicator lights flash, the notes show up on the on-screen keyboard, and the audio gets to the speakers.

2. The piano sustain pedal causes the indicator lights to flash.

3. The sustain pedal has NO effect on the Roland piano key output from Cantabile.

4. The sustain pedal DOES have an effect when I use the on-screen (computer) keyboard. I can push the sustain pedal on the real piano, then push on the computer keyboard and the sustain works fine for those sounds!

Of course, what I'd like to have is the sustain pedal usable with the real piano keyboard, not the on-screen keyboard.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thank you in advance.

Ricmat

I'm not a keyboard player, so I have to use my sustain pedal in different ways. Also not familiar with the current Cantabile.

Is it that the sustain pedal is working with the computer-and will therefore trigger software, but you want it to work with the internal sounds of the keyboard? No that doesn't sound right-if Cantabile has lights flashing for it, it's there, in some form. Sustain is usually control change number 64, so either the software plugin you load would need to have that built in, or you'd manually have to set it up so it'd work that way.

I'd wait until an experienced user has specific info...
The only site for experimental amp sim freeware & MIDI FX: http://runbeerrun.blogspot.com
https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCprNcvVH6aPTehLv8J5xokA -Youtube jams

Hi Ricmat,

I`m not clear about what you`re doing and what you expect cantabile to do. So as RunBeerRun mentioned some questions on the issue: