Advice On Mix Please - Female Vox

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello,

Would love to hear some advice and suggestions on "Hide Away". You can check it out here http://www.myspace.com/armchairdreamers

I'm fairly new at this, so I'd appreciate any and all comments/advice. I'm not that big a fan of the song anymore, it does end abruptly, and we probably would re-record parts of her singing, but hey. :)

Thanks!
C

That singer has a really sweet, distinctive voice.
The most obvious problem is the drums. They don't suit the arrangement at all.
Try removing them and then asking yourself what is missing (rhythmically). It may just be that all you need is an egg shaker or a ride cymbal.
Just a thought - A bass guitar might be the foundation for this track.

I reckon you can either go down the Portishead route - scratchy, vinyl drum loops. Or try and make it more acoustic sounding with some light percussion.

Bottom line is - I'm very jealous of your singer. She sounds great!

I have to agree with sonarman, the drums are distracting from the rest of the great song. Maybe you were after a different sound, not mainstream or something, but a different drum (maybe not the trash drum, with so much delay) or a different beat would complement it better.

Maybe not a traditional beat. I would never have thought to have a snare rat-a-tatting, instead of 2-4 beat on the song Linger by the Cranberries, but I couldn't hear any other way now.
1310th top poster out of 181396 members!

Thanks for the advice! Yeah, the drums don't really fit - I'm not quite sure what to do with them. I'll try to rework that.

Besides the compositional error with the drums, does the mix itself sound ok?

Thanks again!