First ever ambient / atmosphere work

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

So, I'm looking for kind folk to give me a few minutes of their time and lob even a 1 line comment on my stuff. I'm new at this, so I'm open to any criticism. Anything to improve; especially in terms of mixing.

I'm trying to create a bleak, yet gentle ambience; something lonely and desolate rather than overtly, energetically negative. Imagine being the last person on earth... yet immortal.

You've a choice of access: http://www.myspace.com/madrayken

...or direct downloads:

http://dene.iine.org/BellRotation.mp3
10MB

http://dene.iine.org/Drone1.mp3
6.5MB

http://dene.iine.org/Acchoral.mp3
5MB

Things I know already: BellRotation has some pop issues due to my hardware malfunctioning, and Acchoral suffers from a really abrupt ending. Drone1 is a bit 'toppy' in some areas (I think).

Again, huge thanks for your time!

Dene
Last edited by Madrayken on Fri Jun 15, 2007 8:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bell rotation...

if i had to find a problem with the mix(you do ask) it might be that there doesnt seem much space between the instruments.
that might be a personal choice thing though, as its not really a bad sounding mix just perhaps i would have done it differently. i like the pad sounds that come in over the bell reperititions.
definitely not as bleak as being immortal at all though :o can you imagine that, outliving everything you loved and hated? what would there be...
id say more discovering a desolate planet and perhaps being the first there.

ill check the others later, as for tips on where to go with this kind of thing, for me ive always just let it go where it goes, sometimes it works sometimes it doesnt, but try everything and anything :)

vurt wrote:bell rotation...

if i had to find a problem with the mix(you do ask) it might be that there doesnt seem much space between the instruments.