Some Things Never Change

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Here's a new track I've created.

Some Things Never Change

I'd welcome any feedback to help me improve it. Please let me know what you think.

It's made using Tracktion, Manystation (bass), Organised, PlugSound Free (drums) and guitar recorded live. I'm particularly interested to know what people think of the mastering, as this is an area I don't know too much about. I've used Finalmix on the drums and bass so far.

Hope you enjoy it!

AlanB

I did enjoy it
someday if I ever learn how to properly master I might give suggestions, but for now I suck at it, just try to make it sound good to you

Im not good at mastering like vtx either, so don't expect highly useful comments about it.

I :love: the guitar work and the organ playing, but I think the organ moves a bit too much in the stereo image.

The bass sounds a bit too lifeless for this genre in the first part where it is more prominent. My suggestion; add vocals and then lower the bass volume a bit.

A nice track! My comments are minor quibbles. Make it longer!

peace

Thanks guys! I appreciate your comments.

I think I'll try re-recording the bass to try to get a bit more life into it.

AlanB

Your balances are wrong. You need to bring the rest of the band up in level to get closer to the guitar. It sounds like a bad demo mix now. The band is supposed to be playing together.

Also, with all the ambience you have on it overall, you might mix in some crowd noise and make it sound like a live bar band cut. Go for a smoky bar feel. :lol:

The guitar is a bit loud, but not too much. The only problem I have with this track is that the drums are a great bit mechanical sounding. Also, way too much ambience (come to think of it, egarrard was being sarcastic, but keeping the ambience and adding a low-level track of maybe a recorde bar ambience wouldnt sound bad at all).