Buying a new laptop - the firewire issue

Configure and optimize you computer for Audio.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi there, here's my situation. I've been making music for 5-6 years using a laptop with firewire and a Presonus Firebox soundcard. I need to buy a new laptop because this one is on its last legs.

Now, i'm really happy with my current setup and would just like the RAM and CPU boost that buying a new laptop would bring. The only problem is that i'm finding it very difficult to find a laptop with firewire.

What are people typically doing in my situation?

Thanks for any help!

a) Macbook Pro has firewire (they DO run Windows btw...)

b) Adkproaudio sells music-ready laptops with firewire

c) you need to find a laptop with and Expresscard slot, then you can add a firewire card.

option c doesnt work 1/2 the time.. (DPC issues)

Thanks for the replies. In regards to option B im in the UK unfortunately. A i'd try to avoid if i could help it just due to the fact i'd be paying a fair bit more money for the same cpu power/RAM etc which is what i care about but i was unaware of that as an option, so thanks.

As far as option C is concerned, is it basically a lottery as to whether this would work or is there anything that can be done to avoid problems?

I got my express card from Maplins make sure it's a Texas Instruments compatible with the interface you will be using,just research compatibility issues to be sure, I use Presonus Firepod with HP laptop

jcschild wrote:option c doesnt work 1/2 the time.. (DPC issues)
Can you please explain the DPC Issues and how one can test for them?

Thanks

vaisnava wrote:
jcschild wrote:option c doesnt work 1/2 the time.. (DPC issues)
Can you please explain the DPC Issues and how one can test for them?

Thanks
http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml

There are plenty of PC notebooks with firewire, just look around at the different manufacturers.