Who used HDMI for their computer screen? (compared to the now outdated DVI? )

Configure and optimize you computer for Audio.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

This is my first time in those waters. My 27" LG (which had the best picture ever) literally broke at the base plate (the plastic snapped right off :x ) and then the subsequent crash of the main part broke ... so even propping it up is unusable. That was DVI.

So I have HDMI, bought a "monitor" (it's really a TV) and it's blurry compared to the other (especially hosts, which is why I went with a 32" (my eyes, my eyes :cry: )

Is HDMI shitty for a computer connection? Or is it possibly just the larger screen where I see the errors more? Most stuff that bugged me at first (like figuring out you need to be in game mode for the mouse to work properly) has been figured out.

All the monitors I looked at had HDMI (to my surprise) so not really sure what to think/do here.
Last edited by incubus on Thu Aug 31, 2017 5:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

it's not hdmi - I've got pair of monitors off my pc, one is on hdmi other on dvi (card has one of each), picture is identical

Issue is you're using a tv - they apply a huge pile of smoothing/processing by default - if you're lucky you may find it has a 'game' mode that turns it all off, worst case you'll need to get a proper monitor (or at least a tv that's computer friendly)

also I'm presuming your old 27" was fullHD (1920x1080) as is the new TV - if your old monitor was QHD (2560x14400) or the new monitor is only HD ready (1280x720) you would notice a decrease in quality

I use an LG 47" as a main monitor, bought in 2009. I did a lot of research looking for something at that size (42"+) that would work specifically as a monitor, so it would have none of the aliased text and such as issues. I got a model that others had used with success rather than chancing it on a random set.