Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Midi Import

tigerintheboat
KVRist

63 posts since 20 Nov, 2016

Postby tigerintheboat; Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:08 pm Midi Import

Hi,

I am just getting started trying to import some Midi files into RC, with the intention of isolating some nice phrases to build up my phrase libraries.

One thing that is happening is that when I import the files, the detected key is sometimes wrong, and the chord selections are much more complex than I would expect.

An example is a midi files of Oh Susannah, a folk song that starts with a bar and a half of G, and then a half bar of D7. It is your basic 3 chord folk song.

RC analysis has that first G chord three chords: G G6 Gadd2

In the example above, all the chords have the same root, but in other more complex songs, they do not.

Many of the phrases for the bass and piano in these imported songs are created as spread out over multiple chords, some with different roots, so you can not easily treat them as phrases.

Phrases begin and end without relationship to where chords start and end, which makes everything very messy.

I did not expect this import to do anything perfectly, but....

Is there a way to tell RC to simplify its chord choices?...e.g. eliminate single bar chords, , don't use Add2 every time it sees a "2" note, and start and end phrases consistent with chords, so that phrases don't run over multiple chords with multiple different roots?

Anyone who has worked with Midi Import could please chime in...maybe I am just missing a setting or two.

Tiger
BluGenes
KVRist

181 posts since 15 May, 2017

Postby BluGenes; Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:47 pm Re: Midi Import

Is this what you are looking for? His RC play list is really a gold mine of stuff..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_am-r-dbLTQ
musicdevelopments
KVRAF

2419 posts since 9 Jan, 2010

Postby musicdevelopments; Thu Jan 11, 2018 2:23 am Re: Midi Import

Hi Tiger,