Multiple Shreddage instruments (SFZ)

Official support for: impactsoundworks.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello!

I'm fairly new to the world of DAWs, having come up from an old-style tracker, and I'm really enjoying the sounds that I can get out of Shreddage so far (such as this). I'm using the SFZ version through LinuxSampler and ReValver, and setup was fairly easy with the provided guide.

I've hit a stumbling block, though - how do you set multiple LinuxSampler/Shreddage instances up in a project, to process rhythm/lead guitars separately? Should I in general be aiming to put multiple LinuxSampler plugins into the project, assigning them as effects directly to the channels that hold the MIDI events, or use one plugin and route inputs into it on separate channels, then map those channels to separate outputs within LinuxSampler and route those outputs into channels that have separate ReValver instances applied? (I only half know what I'm talking about here.)

I've tried in both Cakewalk Music Creator 6 and Reaper (which is my preferred environment so far) and had the same problem each time... when attempting to set up multiple instances of LinuxSampler, I could only get sound out of one of them - and from the way the Fantasia UI reacts, it looks as if both separate instances are pointing to the same backend underneath.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Hey David, as you said LinuxSampler seems to work best when there is only one instance. The solution is thus to load more patches into the same instance, but on separate MIDI channels. You can load a new patch by clicking the power button in the Fantasia UI and then hitting Load Instrument. Once the new instrument is loaded, click the "Options" arrow on the right. You can now specify the MIDI channel input (enabling you to send different MIDI data to this patch).