Shreddage 2 standalone - how do you load guitars samples?

Official support for: impactsoundworks.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi,

I'm new to using kontakt player. How do you load the guitar sound presets (revalver , amp sims) into shreddage 2 as a standalone?

Thanks.

There is no easy way to do this, since Kontakt does not support loading external FX plugins. There are two ways you could do it:

1. Load both Kontakt and your amp sim of choice in standalone mode. Then, use audio routing software like JACK, Soundflower, or Virtual Audio Cable to send the audio from Kontakt into the amp sim.

2. Load both Kontakt and your amp sim in standalone, then send Kontakt's output through a physical output on your audio interface. With physical cables, route that output back INTO the interface, and then have the amp sim process those physical inputs.

By far the easiest solution, however, is to use a lightweight DAW such as REAPER or Bidule to run Kontakt in plugin mode, and then whatever amp/fx chain you want to process it within that DAW.
Shreddage 3 Stratus: Next generation Kontakt Player guitar, now available!

Impact Soundworks - Cinematic sounds, world instruments, electric guitars, synths, percussion, plugins + more!

thanks, I'm learning Sonar X3 producer. So would I make an instrument track and load kontakt as a vst ? How would I get the amp sims and revalver hpse to run through shreddage 2 like in the youtube videos? man, when I bought this I was thinking plug and play, no problem --- wrong!

cheers

I don't personally use Sonar X3, but yes, that sounds correct. Most DAWs make it very easy to load up plugins and play them, and since that's what you'll need to do if you want to sequence / record MIDI and mix other parts together, it's definitely worth learning.

I'm sorry that there is no direct solution for using guitar FX with Kontakt in standalone mode, but that's something we can't control - it's up to Native Instruments to develop that feature.