Help needed with beginner stuff

Official support for: impactsoundworks.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

OK, so I'm playing with Shreddage 2/Bass/Drums and Fl Studio 12 .. and I am seriously lost.

Bear with me, I'm a drummer and can't play guitar to save my life, actually I fail at electronics and software in general. I'm going through as many tutorials as I can find but there are a few things that seem to be too basic to warrant any. For instance, Learn Midi CC automation. Host auto is no problem but I have no idea what Learn Midi CC auto means or how to use it. I am trying to trigger tremolo in the middle of a riff but can only seem to trigger it manually and when I turn the key switch off the part I recorded is back to it's normal sound, the tremolo effect is lost.

The other thing is power chords, I am trying to find them on the piano roll. I want to reproduce a song but don't know where to get the chords the artist uses, for example a C power chord? If I sequence a chord it plays back different variations and repeat them, uh, so what is happening there? The chord changes 3 times even if the sequencing is exactly the same?

Any help will be much appreciated, I'm sure I will have more questions once I get past the basics :)

Hey there! Happy to help (and I'm sure others here will want to chime in also).

To trigger tremolo, first let me ask how you WANT to trigger it. My own preference is to use a keyswitch. You can do this on the Articulations page. Just pick a key from the dropdown menu next to Tremolo, for example C0. Now when you press C0 on your MIDI controller (or in your host sequencer), the articulation will switch to Tremolo. You can then hit another keyswitch to stop using tremolo. This is typically the easiest way to switch articulations in the middle of a riff.