Need major advice on what DAW/computer setup to go with!!

Official support for: bestservice.de
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi everyone, I'm in urgent need of some advice here and any help would be greatly appreciated!

Here's some quick, important background info:

-- Just recently got into the world of DAWs and Virtual Instruments
-- My piano is hooked up to an old crummy Macbook Pro (4GB of RAM) running GarageBand
-- I just purchased my first Virtual Instruments, Cantus and Mystica, two days ago
-- I'm not a professional/not doing this for work. That being said, music composition is a passion of mine and I'm willing to put whatever resources I need to put towards it to get the proper setup.
-- I'm focused on using virtual instruments. I'm not concerned with a DAW that is ideal for recording real instruments as I will not be doing any of that. Furthermore, editing a song's/track's notes is important to me, but I'm not going to be doing any hardcore sound editing like applying filters and doing EQ and that kind of stuff. At least that certainly will not be my focus.

So here's the deal. With my current setup I'm experiencing significant performance issues which are hampering my ability to create music effectively. If I create a GarageBand song, it can handle maybe 3-4 tracks that are using Cantus/Mystica (and subsequently the Kontakt 5 AU plugin) before GarageBand/Kontakt crash with an error that reads something like "Panic: Kontakt 5 could not allocate enough memory." GarageBand also relatively frequently gives me the following error: "This song has too many tracks, effects, or notes to be played in real-time" and then the playback/recording will stop at that time. That error often comes up right at the point where playback is about to start on one of the virtual instrument parts. That being said, even after getting that error, I usually just need to start playback again from the beginning and it will be ok. It's very annoying though as it happens relatively often.