Dynamic EQ for noise reduction

Official support for: tokyodawn.net/tokyo-dawn-labs
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I am a hobbyist trying to reproduce a noise reduction effect I've observed in professionally remastered transfers of shellac 78s, although it is something that should be applicable to any non-hi-fi recording with a lot of background noise.

Typically when I doing transfers of old recordings, the signal I want to keep will have originally been recorded through an old microphone or acoustic horn. Usually there is nothing but undesirable noise above a certain threshold like 5 kHz, but when the music or crowd noise is loud, there can be legitimate harmonics up to another threshold as high as 16 kHz.

So what I want to do is have the music be untouched below 5 kHz, no changes to dynamics or EQ. The EQ should ramp down pretty steeply above that, normally. But the louder the above-5 kHz signal is, the less I want the EQ to be applied to that portion of the signal.

I feel like some kind of "dynamic EQ" should achieve this, but it seems to be basically the opposite of what the TDR Nova plugin does. I can get it to apply more EQ when the signal increases, but I can't figure out how to invert that response.

Is this possible with any TDR plugin, or am I going about it all wrong?

Can you share some screenshots, just to get an idea of the EQ curve you want to apply dynamically?
Fabien from Tokyo Dawn Records

Check out my audio processors over at the Tokyo Dawn Labs!

Not sure if this is what you meant. I kept mucking around with FFT filter and noise reduction effects in Audition until I got something close to what I want to achieve.

The left half is piano. The right half is speech, then laughter/cheering/applause.