How to use Fluidsynth as an output?

Discussion about: tracktion.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello, I'm new to Tracktion.

I downloaded Tracktion 4 for Ubuntu and tried to play/record some MIDI stuff using Qsynth as the MIDI output but it didn't work.
I imported a midi file, then selected the track and then set "Fluidsynth" as its destination output but I can't hear anything, and the Qsynth led doesn't blink, as if the signal wasn't arriving at all.
Has this happened to anyone else or does it work fine for you? I'm on Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit

Fluidsynth does appear on the midi devices list and it works with other applications. I don't know why it wouldn't work with Tracktion

Any help appreciated.

You can use Carla to play SF2 and SFZ files. See the Linux FAQ thread.

Yes, and I can also use jack. But why can I not use fluidsynth (Qsynth) directly?

Last edited by OBSOLETE160530 on Tue Jun 14, 2022 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

falkTX wrote:Cause that's not a plugin.
You can setup some external audio and midi connections, but IMO it's not worth it
Then what are MIDI outputs for? I was able to get audio from Tracktion to Qsynth by using another MIDI app as a bridge (output in Tracktion, input in Qsynth) but that gave me very bad perforance and that's why I'm trying to use Qsynth as the ouput directly.

Though if you know of a Linux copatible plugin/synth that will allow me to assign Soundfonts to tracks please tell me. The only one I know is Calf Fluidsynth but it's LV2 only, and Tracktion doesn't support LV2 plugins.

If you don't like setting up external MIDI connections then how would you use soundfonts in Tracktion?

Does the suggested Carla option not play them?

I'm trying to understand what QSynth and FluidSynth do.

I'm getting the impression - correct me if I'm wrong - that you want Tracktion to send MIDI to QSynth/FluidSynth and have them/it send audio back into Tracktion for you to record?