How to use midi with Tracktion

Discussion about: tracktion.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi - I'm a complete newbie to home recording so sorry for the really basic question.

I've ordered some Behringer recording/mixing gear. When it's registered I will be downloading a complimentary copy of Tracktion (not sure which version that will be) and I would like to try using midi for the first time.

I have an ancient old keyboard with midi in/out and I'll be buying the midi/USB cables and hub. Apart from Tracktion itself, will I need to install any other software (e.g. plugins) or will Tracktion support midi out of the box.

David

my other modular synth is a bugbrand

Thanks I'd already watched that video, but it didn't actually address the question I'm asking.

Perhaps the easiest way for me to explain is this... I have a 25 year old keyboard, barely more than a toy in its day but perhaps surprisingly had a midi in and out. No software actually came with the keyboard so I have nothing supplied by the manufacturer to use as a plugin.

In the video I can see 2 references to selecting a named synth. The first is at 1:30 where it talks about sending output to a Korg synth and then feeding the Korg generated audio back into Tracktion. I don't want to do this, if I wanted to record the toy like noises coming out of my toy Yamaha PSS-480 I'd just mic it up.

The second reference is when a 'filter?' plugin is being chosen, in this example it's for a device called a Linplug Alpha. Is this filter, and others like it, something that's supplied with Tracktion - or does it have to be sourced separately e.g. a free or paid download, or supplied only when you actually buy a Linplug Alpha. Note, I'm not particularly interested in the Linplug Alpha, simply will there be some kind of synth filter to select so that I can press a key on my old Yamaha and hear and record sounds through Tracktion without hunting around for plugins

Thanks