Please help a complete beginner!

Discussion about: tracktion.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Dear All,

I have very recently installed Tracktion 6 :help:. I am hoping to record sung lyrics (via a new microphone with Xenyx mixer) on top of audio files produced by Finale music notation programme's Garritan Sounds. I would like the Mass music to be played in unison by a flute and a vibraphone and I have the audio files for this. I have two separate files, one for each instrument, so that I can set the levels independently - I hope this is sensible. Please could someone help me at all in importing files to tracks? When I import an audio file, I can play at most one track (when it works!) but I don't know how to get two tracks in unison - one overrides the other. I have tried to look this up but I can't find what to do. I would just like to play two tracks together and record the lyrics in a third track. :pray: Please help!

Thank you,

Chloe

Hi Chloe !

In order to import your two files, you have to "prepare" 2 tracks in T6 to be able to accept them.
Select Track one and at the bottom of the window, check its output to your audio output.
Do the same with the track two.
Once all this is done, go back to track one, and select it.
Then click on track one and import your first audio track (at the bottom of the window, there is an "import" case : click on it... and proceed).
Once the import is done, go to track two and do the same, importing your other audio file.

Check that your two audio files in they respective track in T6 are (each one) at the extreme left of the track, at the beginning of the player position "zero" (if not, you can select each of them and click and drag to the most left possible position).

Now, when you hit the space bar of your keyboard or you click on the play button, you will hear the two audio files simultaneously played...

I hope that's helps you...
Good luck !

Regards
Lutin mutin

Note :