Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR
WXLF
KVRian

790 posts since 2 Nov, 2014

Postby WXLF; Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:25 am Modular Essentials (Help removing devices)

https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/679631

I'm going to be building my first modular synthesizer. The picture above is my end goal, but my budget right now is $2,250. If you were in my position, which modules would you remove to meet the budget? It's basically the MN Shared System Plus with Pressure Points taken away and an ES-8 and Pulse Tornado added.

7U Case w/ CV Bus - $660

MATHS - $290
moDemix - $140
DPO - $599
Optomix - $215
Echophon - $399
Erbe-Verb - $489

ES-8 - $475
Tempi - $269
Wogglebug - $249
Pulse Tornado - N/A
Rene - $500
Morphagene - $529

Total: $4,827
Budget: $2,250

The DPO will be my sound source, so that is definitely in. And the Pulse Tornado has not been released yet, so that is removed automatically. As a beginner, I appreciate anyone's opinion on what they believe to be the most essential modules here. I might be able to push the budget a little bit. Thanks :tu:
foosnark
KVRAF

4350 posts since 9 Jan, 2003, from Saint Louis MO

Postby foosnark; Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:59 am Re: Modular Essentials (Help removing devices)

The way I got into modular wasn't 100% planned this way, but worked out to three separate phases:

-- Exploration of sound sources, modulation and utilities, but keeping sequencing and effects in the computer.
-- Checking out modular sequencing and performance controls (including clock dividers, extra mixers/attenuators etc.)
-- Getting into modular and hardware FX.

It's worked out well for me. I never really intended to separate my music making from the computer, and was happy with things at each stage. At this point I have a nice hybrid where it could theoretically be standalone, or it could be tightly integrated with the DAW or anywhere in between.