Ultimate Zebra Challenge : Greatest Synth Sounds of All Time

Official support for: u-he.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi All

Not sure if you guys and gals have seen it but theres a cool article on music radar.. the greatest synth sounds of all time -

http://bit.ly/ajyVV4

I thought it would be really cool if we recreated all the 40 sounds in Zebra, would a be a great way to promote it's versatility plus would be brilliant to play around with the sounds!

Not sure how we should organise it, does someone want to act as the recipient of the patches and make a little zip file?

(im new to this!)

Cheers

Ben

I like this idea. I'm finding the best way to learn synthesis is trying to control it. If you have a sound your shooting for, it makes a huge difference.

The first one (#40) is the Mellotron sound 'Choir 3'

You can hear it really well in this youtube clip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f9JUGJlz2A8

The challenge is that this is a looped sample, but that shouldn't stop us.

Best regards,

Gino
Last edited by Gino Cortesi on Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gino Cortesi wrote:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f9JUGJlz2A8
The challenge is that this is a looped sample, but that shouldn't stop us.
Indeed not. MSEGs are great for "repeated random"

I can't say I exactly agree with the list - no Kraftwerk, TD, JMJ, Vangelis? :shock: D Ramirez's Bodyrox synth is 'Teh Greatest Synth Sound of all Time ...Evar'?

Not that I'm an especially ardent fan of 70's electronica - but those are some pretty big exceptions.

But then I see that the list was compiled by Future Music... :lol:

Anyway FWIW here's my version of the Melotron Male Choir:

Ahtron

It's not perfect - I used Elektrostudio's Tapeotronic as a guide and, going by that, the Melotron is even more lofi than my fairly lofi interpretation. I didn't think it was really necessary to emulate the loop - doesn't the real thing just stop playing once the tape has run through?