How can I modulate overall volume with expression (cc11)

Official support for: u-he.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I know it seems like an overly simple thing, and I'm no novice, but I can't seem to find a way to use cc11 to modulate the overall volume output or volume before effects. Some patches utilize Osc 1 and 2 and Sub Osc 1 and 2. That's 4 modulation destinations for one controller......and I may be figuring it out as I type. Still, any help is appreciated.

I use the Modulation Matrix for everything.
Use Oscillator volumes, grid volumes or Master/Send volumes.

EricWatkins wrote:I know it seems like an overly simple thing, and I'm no novice, but I can't seem to find a way to use cc11 to modulate the overall volume output or volume before effects. Some patches utilize Osc 1 and 2 and Sub Osc 1 and 2. That's 4 modulation destinations for one controller......and I may be figuring it out as I type. Still, any help is appreciated.
Which instrument?
PhasePhckr (modular MPE VSTi) G+
Fatar88Lux (dyi MIDI brain) bitbucket
Assault Opera - sound cloud | spotify

Oh my gosh, what a knot head I am. The synth is Hive. Sorry about that.

First, click the "GEAR" icon in the top right of Hive:

Next, click on Midi Learn mode, the click on the Output knob. If successful it will highlight the circle around the output knob:

Finally, move your expression pedal. You should see a line appear inside the Output knob and hear the volume change:

You can also verify the setting by looking at the Midi Learned List. Select the middle icon:

When you're done learning close the settings mode by clicking on the "X" in the top right corner:

Note that this learned mode is global across all presets, all instances of hive, and will persist across loads.
Feel free to call me Brian.