Official support for: u-he.com
Locked New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Didn't found this topic.

Any plans on subject?
🇺🇦

Thoughts, but no plans.

I'm a fan of it, I would definitely jump on board.

I think it's really helped Serum sales as well.

Urs wrote:Thoughts, but no plans.
Please find the time to think more & convert it into actual action plan ;)

Maybe partner with splice.com like Xfer did?

I think it's a win-win for both sides - I'm a hobbyist and it's difficult for me to justify spending 100+ EUR on something that I might not have a lot of time to use due to job & family stuff, but if that expenditure could be spread over time then it suddenly becomes a much more appealing proposition and easier to justify. Not sure how big of a problem piracy is for u-he's stuff, but I recall Steve Duda saying that for Serum more than 90% of users aren't legit. So, if just 10% of those would get encouraged to rent-to-own, then suddenly it's 2x more legit users.
Music tech enthusiast
DAW, VST & hardware hoarder
My "music": https://soundcloud.com/antic604

I think it's a lot of development work for a major business risk. It involves creating a challenge/response (or online activation) scheme, or it involves using a pre-made solution such as iLok. It also involves creating separate binaries for each platform and license model. Either way we would have to initially try it with one product, and it'll take a one or two year trial to see how it stacks up against our current scheme.

Thing is, an overall loss of 10% over the course of a year costs two jobs. I much rather spend time on developing new things than on such risks.

Urs wrote:I think it's a lot of development work for a major business risk. It involves creating a challenge/response (or online activation) scheme, or it involves using a pre-made solution such as iLok.
Oh, indeed! I've not thought about it - you need to be able to disable the plugin if someone stops paying :(

I'll start saving for that Repro-1 then :D