Help me get started with VSTGUI

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi, I'm just getting started on VST development. The VST SDK comes with examples, trivial maybe but way helpful in getting started. The VSTGUI, unfortunately, does not, and I'm at a loss on how to get started.

I'd really appreciate any help I can get, either hand-holding or pointers to good tutorial sites.

About me: I'm a pro programmer but I work in C. (I write embedded communications & control code; cutrrently work for Cisco.) For past work I've studied Java, C++, and OO (including distributed objects ala CORBA), I've read and understood (much of) Design Patterns, and I've had detailed discussions with experts on the problems associated with multiple inheritance, etc. That is, I can talk the talk ... but I'm not foolish enough to think I can walk the walk. Experience is clearly important and I don't have any yet.

My end goal is to write a program to help people create multisample instruments (e.g., soundfonts) by designing a GUI that makes it a lot easier to collect a good set of samples and then automatically map them. I've already prototyped automapping code, which I used to build the jRhodes3 soundfont. My dream is that a good free tool like this might increase the quantity and quality of freeware multisample instruments. I'll be distributing the program freely.

Meanwhile, though, I just want to fool around with VSTGUI and get a feeling for how you put together GUIs with it. I'm using Visual C++ (well, fumbling with it is a better term) but I haven't done GUI work since the late 80's and trust me, things have changed since then.

For starters, though, I'd like to know how to simply put a VU meter on a plugin! Next I'd want to do a file browser and what used to be called a 'canvas' (graph space for line drawings & grid coloring).

I'd really appreciate any help I can get!

Thanks,
Jeff
Last edited by learjeff on Sat Jun 17, 2006 11:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.