R&D

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Do people generally use matlab for researching and development of plug-ins before they are implemented in C++ code?

Yes, all of them.

And they also study 6 years scientific algebra before they are authorized to release audio plugins.

:?

agent 007 wrote:And they also study 6 years scientific algebra before they are authorized to release audio plugins.
Tell me about it! I'm currently studying for the VST Certification Exam. Lots of late nights ahead...

- m
Markleford's band, The James Rocket: http://www.TheJamesRocket.com/
Markleford's tracks: http://www.markleford.com/music/
Markleford's free MFX, DXi2, DR-008 modules: http://www.TenCrazy.com/

:roll:

not too sure where u were both going with your replies....It was a serious question.

I also wondered if it was possible to use converted matlab code (into C++) for use within a vst. Or is this not allowed due to mathworks licensing agreements?

detfella wrote:not too sure where u were both going with your replies....It was a serious question.

I also wondered if it was possible to use converted matlab code (into C++) for use within a vst. Or is this not allowed due to mathworks licensing agreements?
Of course I was kidding.

I personally think, that most of the devs here don't use MatLab for some reasons.

But who can forbid you to use CONVERTED MatLab files?
They can merely forbid You to use MatLab output directly...

And if you have MatLab, so you can look at the licensing agreement for such questionable limitations...
(This would be the reason for not using MatLab at all.)

For what to f*** is MatLab finally good for, if you cannot use the results in any way than for pure imaginary research or highly academic orgasms?

:?: Have they copyrighted the usage of maths in general :?:

I have seen at least one open source project, where the initiator used MatLab output files directly inside the code. But I cannot remember where...