Is it possible to develop a VST using Visual Basic 6?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi everyone, I am kind-off new here.

I just have a simple question. I am interested in developing a VST, but to date have only experience in Visual Basic, which I have been doing for over 5 years. Thats Visual Basic 6.

Is it possible to develop a simple VST using VB6. I know that the software development kits are only for C++ and Delphi, but surely I should be able to use those classes. Please correct me if I am wrong.

The other alternative is to learn C++, but how difficult would that be for me? Are there any pointers or guidelines you could provide for me here?

Also, is there any book or literature which can help in how to develop VSTs.

Many Thanks
OrangeMan

VB isn't OO, so it will be pritty hard. Normaly you simply derive a class from AudioEffectX. This isn't possible in VB (correct me if I'm wrong). So, sorry I don't see how to do it.
The other alternative is to learn C++, but how difficult would that be for me? Are there any pointers or guidelines you could provide for me here?
Hm, pretty hard? OK, you could continue the procedural style of coding in C++, but that's very uncommon and I wouldn't recomend to do so. But changing the coding style is hard (at least it was for me a long time ago).
Of course it worth learning C++, but it's very complicated.

Delphi is another choice. The transition from VB to Dellphi shouldn't be so hard. Tobybear uses Delphi and FLStudio is written in Delphi too if I'm not wrong.

Actually, there's something a bit more fundamental. The whole VST API works by exposing C method calls. This you can do in Delphi, but not in VB, C#, Java or much else. So, you could write bits that way, but you'd need to write a wrapper. And the effort involved would be better spent learning enough C++ anyway.

VST = C++ sdk

What about dxi?

Best regards,

Spe3d

:O)

Spe3D wrote:VST = C++ sdk

What about dxi?

Best regards,

Spe3d