Need help to build VST plugin with Code::Blocks and the Steinberg VST SDK 3.60

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello, I'm new in VST development and I want to learn how to make VST plugin. To do this, I downloaded the Steinberg VST SDK 3.60 and I am trying to build the AGain example.

Firstly, I tried to build AGain with the Code::Blocks IDE, MSVC12 toolchain, and with this tutorial : http://learnvst.wordpress.com/old-site/ ... -examples/
It's compiling, but it's fail during linking: unsolved external symbol GetPluginFactory
==> Something is missing, I think

Secondly, I used Code::Blocks IDE and MSVC12 toolchain again, but this time I tried to import VC10 project provided with the example. It's compiling but there is many undefined symbol during linking
==> Something is missing, I think

I tried to open the VC10 project with the IDE of visual studio 2013 express, It builds correctly, but I really don't want to use this IDE, I find it unintuitive and not easy to understand and use.

So, what is missing? What files need to be compiled ?

Nobody can help me ? After looking at the visual studio project for a long time, I understood that when you open a vst project, it automatically open other project to build some needed library. this library project basenamed are "base" (VST3 SDK\base) and "vst2wrapper" (VST3 SDK\public.sdk\source\vst\vst2wrapper).

So I tried to build "base" library in a code::block project but I get many Warning about casting and truncation. Something is wrong but Maybe I missed a compiler flag ?

Is there a way to know which flags (i means ALL FLag) are used in visual studio IDE ? See outputed compiler commands will be the best way, but I don't know to do that with visual studio IDE.

i doubt the vst3 sdk comes with C::B projects (.cbp) so it probably has MSVC projects instead