How To Create A Simple Plugin Host?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I was wondering about the process involved in creating DAW's. I have zero experience in software developing but hoping there's a simple method of visually building pieces together like in synth edit. If not next semester is coming up and would be interested in taking some classes. I just want a simple program, nothing complex like cubase, more simpler like Orion that's uncluttered with windows and routings etc.. Just need to insert Vsti's, a piano roll, song playlist and mixer and build up the options from there. Would also like to experiment with workflow ideas if progressed far enough. I have two years of university left so any classes relevant to daw production would be nice to know of.

Also are they starter resources for piano rolls, mixers, etc that I could copy and paste into a program and tweak from there. Sorry in advance for any noob questions or ignorance :)
Last edited by Touch The Universe on Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
High Quality Soundsets for Lush-101 | Hive | Electra 2 | Diversion | Halion | Largo | Rapid | Dune II | Thorn | and more.

TTU Youtube

no, there isn't synthedit for daws :)
btw, the correct keyword is not "daw", this is a term used by end-users, but "host"
A "simple" host like orion is not simple at all, I think it will require more than a semester. It requires several years, and maybe a team of experienced programmers :)

Yep, nothing simple about Orion. :)

Thanks for the correction Zaphod :-) I don't mean to make light of the Orion because I like that daw but relatively speaking it certainly looks less of a complex machine than other daws windows and gui wise so I wanted to use that as an example. Function wise I think we'd all agree its simplistic and that's why its good. :hihi: