Java VST development?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi there

i am a newbie to VST coding. i'd liket o know what is the status quo of programming languages suitable for VST.
exisitng percentage stat (i'd guess):
C/C++ (Korg Legacy) ~90%
Delphi(Tobybear) ~9%
Assembler (VAZ Modular) ~1%

lisp, smalltalk, oberon, eiffel, ...: slow

java (+jvstwrapper): ???
i really wonder if java is good enough for VST now.

thank you for comments

I think Java would be too slow for VST development :help:

What about with a JIT compiler?

jtxx000 wrote:What about with a JIT compiler?
Java's not only slow relative to good C/C++ code, it's also a huge memory pig and the garbage collector is a disaster for stuff with hard realtime requirements like a VST. Java's a great language for a lot of things but not for writing VSTs.

Stick with C/C++ with maybe a little judicious assembler.

One of my Java books has a tutorial on how to write a standalone X0X style drum machine.. its near the end of the book and I havent got there yet.. but I plan on tweaking it a bit once I get there :D

I think (please correct me if im wrong) that Arturia's Storm (virtual studio) was coded in java... and it runs many softsynths at once.. so I dont see why it would be a major problem.

VitaminD wrote:One of my Java books has a tutorial on how to write a standalone X0X style drum machine.. its near the end of the book and I havent got there yet.. but I plan on tweaking it a bit once I get there :D

I think (please correct me if im wrong) that Arturia's Storm (virtual studio) was coded in java... and it runs many softsynths at once.. so I dont see why it would be a major problem.
If you can write a VST even remotely in the league of the current good ones in java I'll eat my hat.
Last edited by kuniklo on Tue May 25, 2004 7:15 am, edited 1 time in total.