What is the best way to reduce aliasing in this oscillator?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi everyone. First of all sorry for may be some dumbest in this question. I'm a beginner in DSP and my math skills is far from perfect. But I'm learning. I found here and in another places a lot about anti-aliasing methods. I'm not fully understand how to implement it in all cases, but I understand how it works. I'm trying to make something like a sine oscillator, but from two parabolas. And I also want to modulate the parabolas width. Here is Julia code for trivial implementation of this oscillator:

Code: Select all

function parWM(w, c::PhaseCounter)
  phase = phasor(c)

if phase < w
    return -4 * (phase/w - 0.5)^2 + 1
  else
    return 4 * ((phase-w)/(1-w) - 0.5)^2 - 1
  end

end
phase is a phase counter and 0 ≤ phase ≤ 1;
w is width and 0 ≤ w ≤ 1.

width = 0

width = 0.3

width = 0.5

width = 0.7

width = 1

I'm looking for efficient method to reduce aliasing in this oscillator. Not only looking, but want to understand what is better and why. And I hope for your help... On this forum I found polyBLAMP implementation by Tale:

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic ... r#p6107378

And it's working well in my case when width = 1 or width = 0 (when it's just a parabola). It also suppress aliasing with other width value, but there is audible aliasing.

Also I tried to apply polyBLAMP from this paper:

http://www.ness-music.eu/wp-content/upl ... squeda.pdf

But I failed... (I almost sure, that I did something wrong).

I'd not write, but I'm in stuck. The only solution currently I see is using Tale's polyBLAMP with oversampling. But I'm not sure this IS a solution and I believe there is a much better way. I'm also planning to use width in range [0.05, 0.5] or so, but currently it's not matter, I think. Also I'm trying to suppress aliasing in a single-parabola version of this oscillator for start: