AUv3 in Xcode: how do I set it all up?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi everyone,
Long-time lurker here, lots of fantastic resources around these parts.

I am an audio DSP engineer (mostly working in Max/MSP, and sadly Matlab where I have to use it for research), for a long time I've been wanting to get in to the plugin dev game. I LOVE working at the bit-level (done lots of embedded projects too), getting as low level as possible to manipulate and control samples is what I live/eat/sleep/breathe for; gen in Max/MSP was a very close experience to what I've been wanting to do as an audio DSP guy. My native language of C/C++ has meant that the beckon of the plugin world has been calling me for some time, I just never seem to be able to figure out how the CoreAudio API and AU sample code are set up. Apple's severe lack of documentation on the topic doesn't help much either.

I have a few specific questions, but I've also got a few broad questions. This all stems from the headache of figuring out how Core Audio and AUv3 packages/projects are set up in Xcode.