Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New#KVRDeals
Alpha Trion
KVRer

6 posts since 1 May, 2017, from Franklin, TN.

Postby Alpha Trion; Tue May 02, 2017 10:56 am Mixbus Scripting Engine (Lua)

I'm a pretty recent lurker here at the KVR forums, and only just today found out about the "development" section, as it were, so I hope I don't step on anybody's toes or come off as a total noob.

First let me introduce myself: My name is Nik, I am a recent Audio Production graduate and a hobbyist programmer to boot. Now that's out of the way let's talk about plugin development.

In experimenting with audio programming since the new year, I've found quite a nasty barrier-to-entry. Dealing with buffers, audio interfaces, speaker set-ups, the GUI and the DSP itself can be really challenging. At least starting out.

Enter: Mixbus. A DAW that, personally, I had never heard of until I started looking at my post-graduation choices in Tennessee. Researching the software proved it to be a very capable DAW, built on top of an open source foundation (Ardour) with an emphasis on mixing. I thought this looked really neat, but not exactly revolutionary, and decided to get on their mailing list rather than purchasing.

Then, sometime in April, an update to their software was rolled out, and with it came an entire scripting engine.

This thing is really rad. In addition to being able to control nearly every aspect of the DAW, you can write your own DSP plugins in Lua and have Mixbus host them with a generic GUI. It has a super extensive library of Lua bindings for interacting with the sowftware and, because it Ardour is open source, adding new bindings is relatively simple. You can even add inline displays on mixer strips to display waveforms, or to read out parameters.