Question about sample rates from a user

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi! I am a plugin user and can't code for the life of me. I have a question, if I may ask, about sample rates. This question excludes the notion of nyquist and resulting bandwidth when using different sample rates - this is not a question related to human hearing bandwidth. My question is more about data, so please excuse me if I am way off the mark - as mentioned I am not a software engineer...

Does the plugin sample rate and bit depth have an effect on the accuracy of the computations in DSP code? If so, would this be audible?

My limited understanding leads me to think that more data means more accuracy and could be audible. In my own experience it does make a difference working at higher rates than 44.1k - I find project-renders at 96k sound smoother and sweeter than 44.1k (as long as all the plugins being used can "properly" work at different rates).

But who really knows... so I wanted to get an objective perspective on this from you software engineers.

thanks!

The sample rate determines which range of frequencies you can represent.

The lowest frequency depends upon how long your sample is in seconds. The lowest frequency = 1 / length_in_seconds. So if you have a sound 1 ms long, the lowest frequency you can represent is 1 second / 0.001 seconds = 1000 Hz.

The highest frequency depends upon half the sample rate. The highest frequency = sample_rate / 2. This is called the "nyquist frequency".

For example at 44100 Hz sample rate the maximum frequency you can represent is anything less than or equal to 22050 Hz, assuming you have an infinite length sample. The phase accuracy depends again upon the length of the sample.

There is nothing outside this definition. There is no "how much information excluding bits and nyquist", that is how much information.
Free plug-ins for Windows, MacOS and Linux. Xhip Synthesizer v8.0 and Xhip Effects Bundle v6.7.