Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR
Molem7b5
KVRer

4 posts since 6 Oct, 2017

Postby Molem7b5; Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:38 am Modulated delay - clicking matching LFO Rate

I'm pretty new to all this so no doubt I'm doing something stupid.

I'm in the process of trying to make a bog-standard modulated delay unit using the RackAFX development environment.

I've coded a wave table oscillator that works fine by itself, but when I integrate this for use in a modulated delay line, the sine wave setting causes clicks that a match whatever I've got the rate set to. This doesn't however happen when I have it set to Triangle.

I'm thinking it might have something to do with my wrapping, but I use the same implementation to check and wrap my read and write index for the delay buffer and that seems to work fine.

Anyone got any ideas? I can post sections of my code if needed.
mystran
KVRAF

4674 posts since 11 Feb, 2006, from Helsinki, Finland

Postby mystran; Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:18 pm Re: Modulated delay - clicking matching LFO Rate

Molem7b5 wrote:I've coded a wave table oscillator that works fine by itself, but when I integrate this for use in a modulated delay line, the sine wave setting causes clicks that a match whatever I've got the rate set to. This doesn't however happen when I have it set to Triangle.

I'm thinking it might have something to do with my wrapping, but I use the same implementation to check and wrap my read and write index for the delay buffer and that seems to work fine.

There are a bunch of things that could go wrong, but first sanity check that your sine period is correct (eg. [0, 2*pi]) since that would obviously cause problems otherwise.