Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR
plb
KVRer

5 posts since 9 May, 2018

Postby plb; Wed May 09, 2018 5:16 am How do you know what resonance levels blow up your filter?

I've been working through Andy's papers to learn about filtering. I've successfully implemented the sallen-key filter, and I think I understand everything presented except for two concepts: why the g coefficient is calculated as tan(pi*cutoff/samplerate), and why k = 2*res (presuming res is [0.0, 1.0] then this effectively sets an upper bound of 2 for resonance).

I then took that two-stage filter and drew up a variant that had three stages -- so 18db slope -- analyzed it, and implemented an algorithm for it. It works quite well, but I noticed that whereas the original two-stage filter would really scream at res=2, my three stage filter would not. I started playing around with different max levels, and discovered that res=3 is too much, state values wind up going to infinity and the whole thing blows up. After some trial and error I found that the right limit is res=8/3, and not one iota more. That seems like too precious of a number to be a coincidence, but I don't understand where it comes from.

I suspect this resonance calculation is related to the tan() stuff. These are the only concepts in Andy's papers that I find unexplained, and I'm coming at this with zero prior DSP or electronics knowledge (just comp sci and some rusty calculus, linear algebra, and physics), everything else I've been able to figure out by studying his papers and the references. By the way, THANK YOU Andy, fantastic stuff! :tu: Very intuitively accessible.

I'm sorry if this question has already been answered, I've searched this forum as thoroughly as possible, and while I've seen grumblings about "tan pre-warping" (is that what this tan() stuff is?) I haven't yet found an explanation for why it's necessary, and how it interacts with the resonance levels (if at all) to determine maximum stable values.
mystran
KVRAF