Help building a FIR graphic EQ, Juce.

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi KVR,

I am currently studying sound engineering and for my final year project I am to design both a minimum phase and linear phase FIR Graphic EQ for perceptual comparison. I have been using matlab to get the coefficients and juce for the plugin implementation. I am something of a newb to C++ although through sheer determination have figured out a simple algorithm which works.

I'll be uploading the code to my github here https://github.com/CultureBunkerRecordings

If anyone would like to have a look please do and any suggestions on how i could conduct listening tests would be excellent also.

Thankyou!!

Any links to discussion on minimum phase vs linear phase would also be useful.

Sorry for the unspecific requests..

If you are using JUCE, why not use their filter classes as well?

Hi yes that might be an option although i've never tried the filter class.. I need to implement two graphic eq's with the exact same filter response, one linear phase and one minimum phase. knowing the exact values of the coefficients is essential as my lecturer will provide the code to make the linear phase filter minimum phase..

culturebunker wrote:knowing the exact values of the coefficients is essential as my lecturer will provide the code to make the linear phase filter minimum phase..
OK, so this code your lecturer is providing will take a linear-phase (FIR) filter, and make a minimum-phase equivalent from that? (Presumably using ceptstrum).

If so: a lot of the "minimum-phase filter" literature will assume you're using IIR filters, same with filter libraries. However, if you're using an FIR minimum-phase filter, in terms of implementation it's the same as any other convolution, just with different coefficients (and no need for latency compensation).