What are the most important parts of C++ for coding plug-ins?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

As I've said a few times, I am learning C++(along with planning a wedding, moving, going back to school, working full time, recording for my church, and trying to do too much other stuff). But since I'm still beginning at it, I was curious. What parts of C++ will come in handy the most when doing VST plug-ins? What parts should I spend the most time with? I am learning all I can, but I want to make sure I don't miss something important. I want to focus on the main things I'll need. Thanks guys! Cheers!

Koolkeys

koolkeys wrote:What parts of C++ will come in handy the most when doing VST plug-ins? What parts should I spend the most time with?
That would be:
* Learning how to avoid making mistakes
* Learning how to diagnose your mistakes quickly
* Learning how to fix your mistakes
* Learning how to write code that alerts you as quickly as possible to recently added mistakes
* Learning how to become irritatingly anal-retentive and precise

You'll know you've gotten the last part down when someone asks you a simple yes/no question and you take five minutes to define terms and check your assumptions against theirs before you feel comfortable giving them an answer.

All the rest is really pretty unimportant.

I'm not f**king kidding.

* Less seriously: start programming 15 years ago.
Last edited by Borogove on Tue Aug 10, 2004 4:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Don't do it my way.