Really sad: I’m a Grammy Nominated Artist. Want to See My Royalty Statements?

Anything about MUSIC but doesn't fit into the forums above.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

http://www.digitalmusicnews.com/permali ... statements
There are tons of articles about music streaming sites like Pandora, Spotify, etc in relation to recording artists making money or not. Here’s a screen capture of my quarterly royalty statement. 14,227 performances of music (almost every track 100% owned by me) generated $4.20. Notice one performance of “Ceremonies” or “Distant Lands” streaming radio show like Hearts of Space that brings in 26 cents for the full writer’s share compared to 2,088 performances of “Gypsy Rain” on Spotify that brought in a total of 60 cents.

I kind of thought that writing your own music was its own reward. If you want to make serious money you're probably better off going into petroleum engineering.

-Sam

Hmmm... As some commentators stated, this kind of stories are not very uplifting, but sadly true. Gone are the days when there were every year several millionaires generated only by one 45`s single hit.

---
Last edited by Chapelle on Fri Oct 06, 2023 6:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

masterhiggins wrote:I kind of thought that writing your own music was its own reward. If you want to make serious money you're probably better off going into petroleum engineering.

-Sam
+1...but let us not forget our passions are not the same...there is nothing wrong with your passion being that of making a living from your passion. (In this case making music). While some people do get their reward from simply writing music that allows them to express themselves it's not out of line for your passion to be more...it's not wrong to shoot for the stars, it's not wrong to have a dream and dream big. Just like it's not wrong to spend your life in your own studio writing music for your own pleasure. :)