There are two kinds of people who make music nowadays

Anything about MUSIC but doesn't fit into the forums above.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

1. For the money (boooooo!)

2. For the joy of making music (crowd goes wild)

Which are you?

I feel like the people who go for number one make modern dance music. I noticed a lot of pre college folk who tend to "want to become famous." I have been messing with music since I was 15 and it's all for fun. I have made a dozen songs but I mostly enjoy singing them to friends, than to make millions off records. Maybe that makes me weird, so I am asking.

I make music to get laid. That's why I started playing guitar, even though keyboards are my main instrument. Keyboarders never get laid, and playing those pseudo-guitar strap-on keyboards just makes you seem desperate. Don't get me started on hiding behind a laptop.

Seriously, I think everyone ultimately makes music out of a desire to communicate, to be seen and heard, and to receive attention. Whether it's the bedroom crowd or the O2 arena, that's what it's about. I don't buy this idealistic "I have a drive to create" thing, which is somehow designed to make you feel superior to vacuous, superficial chart toppers. We're all the same, we want to receive acknowledgement for what we do.

That said, there can be an artistic motive in there, as well. Art, of course, is what you want it to be, and I want art to be the attempt to create something that is a true reflection of yourself. Which is easy as pie and hard as hell, because "all you need to do" is to be honest with yourself and not stand in the way of your self-expression. "Wanting riches and fame" is most certainly something that gets in the way of self-expression, as well as "make something complicated for complexity's sake", or the popular "I want to sound like DJ X or Jimmy Page".

So there's music, and there's art, and when the twain meet, the heavens rejoice.

Er, what was the question? :lol: