squeal sample on "Jump Around" by House of Pain

Sampler and Sampling discussion (techniques, tips and tricks, etc.)
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm trying to figure out where I can find a sample of the squealing saxophone sound that the group House of Pain uses in their song "Jump Around"... I've Googled like crazy, and I can't find ANYTHING! This amazes me, because one would think that such a famous, distinctive sound would be easy to track down, but I am new to this stuff, and mired in endless lists of sounds on the net. Am I crazy?! Can anyone please point me in the right direction?
Thanks!!

I thought it was a sample of 'Prince' actually, but I could well be mistaken...
Last edited by CypherOne on Mon Sep 18, 2006 6:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

lol... whatever it is, I'd love to know where I can find it!

Haven't heard it for a while but I assume it's a sax harmonic a la Public Enemy's Bombsquad.

I think the horn intro used on "Jump Around" was from "Harlem Shuffle" by Bob & Earl, but I could be wrong.

You're absolutely right about the horn intro- I didn't know that! Cool.

I just need the squeal sound, though.

I've been trying to isolate the sound from the recording of " Jump Around" that I have, just through the EQ in Audacity, but you can still hear the drum beat in the background... wish I could figure out how to isolate it more cleanly...

Try this if you haven't already: http://www.the-breaks.com/search.php?te ... ain&type=6

It's Prince - Gett Off :wink:

Ok let me exlain something.. Producers like Mugs (cybress hill some House a pain tracks) & Premier (Ganstarr group home and now Cristina Agulrera<??) come from a time where they would take a sound from any song and manipulate it to sound the way they wanted.. So for all you know you could be looking for some weird ass polka song..

SIDE NOTE: if you listen to cypress hills insane in the membrane it's basically the same thing.