POLL: Which Kontakt version do you use?

Sampler and Sampling discussion (techniques, tips and tricks, etc.)

Which Kontakt version do you use?

Kontakt 5.3 (Win)
42%
Kontakt 5.x (Win)
9%
Kontakt 4 (Win)
22%
Kontakt 5.3 (Mac)
18%
Kontakt 5.x (Mac)
5%
Kontakt 4 (Mac)
5%

Total votes: 88

RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello everyone!

We're about to update and develop new sample libraries.

Therefore we would like to ask the KVR community which version of Native Instruments Kontakt you're using at the moment?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Daniel
Last edited by soniceldorado on Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
soniceldorado - composer // engineer // arranger

Since I'm a developer as well, I use K4.2.4, K5.1.0, K5.2.1 and K5.3.1.

But for my own projects, it's always the latest version, so K4.2.4 and K5.3.1.

Still on snow leopard so 5.2.1 for me (as doesn't support 5.3)

I use 4.2.4 and 5.3.0.

on Snow Leopard. They broke the installer but the .component works just fine if you can extract it.
Someone here offered 'Snowify' which creates 10.6 .pkgs, for one thing. Wait, actually the 'fixapps' terminal command seems to have produced a working 5.3 standalone here. It's in a thread about NI's Xmas freebie Supercharger.

Also 'Pacifist' will extract the plugins and Application Support things (eg., Service Center xml), although the standalone out of that doesn't happen.

I see 5.3.1 things do not work on 5.3.0 which to me is ridiculous. If you're making things that require every update like that I'm very turned off to your product.

thanks for all the answers so far!
I see 5.3.1 things do not work on 5.3.0 which to me is ridiculous. If you're making things that require every update like that I'm very turned off to your product.
yes you're right, even if the instrument/patch in 100% identical but is saved with a newer version, an older NI Kontakt version will not open the patch, so it's not backwards compatible.