Resampling - Downsampling

Sampler and Sampling discussion (techniques, tips and tricks, etc.)
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey Guys,
I am pretty new to sampling synths/romplers and had a question. I sampled a bunch of my sythns/romplers (several hundred patches) a few years ago. When sampling I realized that I needlessly sampled far too many notes and velocities, which created huge file sizes. My question is this:

If I sampled for example my DX7 (every 3rd note at 3 velocities each) and wanted to reduce the size to a patch with samples at every octave at one velocity, how would I do this in bulk across many patches?
www.urbanrecordingcompany.com
Only the Finest Studio Tools!

littlefish wrote:how would I do this in bulk across many patches?
patches for what?
my other modular synth is a bugbrand

A patch, or program. Example. I have captured all banks of an emu- synth that I own. 128 patches per bank.
I have oversampled all of these, and each patch (program) is needlessly bloated.
I would like to reduce their size by removing velocities and mapped samples.
I want to do this across MANY programs/patches.

littlefish wrote:A patch, or program. Example. I have captured all banks of an emu- synth that I own. 128 patches per bank.
I have oversampled all of these, and each patch (program) is needlessly bloated.
I would like to reduce their size by removing velocities and mapped samples.
I want to do this across MANY programs/patches.
Yes, but you dont say what sampler or whatever you're using them in. Your phrasing here
When sampling I realized that I needlessly sampled far too many notes and velocities, which created huge file sizes.
implies that they're stored in some format which contains all your variations. If that's not a patch for your sampler, then what is it? A single recording of all your variations? If its that, then you'll need to split them into separate files first.