Question to the Masses: Resonance

Official support for: zynaddsubfx.sourceforge.net
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

To those of you who have been using ZynAddSubFX for a while, especially those who understand the advanced aspects well, I have a question:

What exactly IS the Resonance function, and how does it shape the sound?

I've been using Zyn for several years, but never truly explored this feature. As far as I can tell, it's a hand-drawn equalizer that is resizable, but doesn't have any specific frequencies to reference.
Couple of points:
1. Does it affect the sound in any way different than frequency boosts/cuts (more than just EQ)
2. What is the reference point for the frequencies? Does it function similar to the Local EQ in Harmor where the midi note playing is the lowest point on the graph, or is it something else?

Would love to hear some feedback!

(Side note: where is everyone? Activity has been so slow on this forum :( )
Free BassTables for Xfer Serum 1 | 2
2016 Synthmaster Song Contest Winner Presets

Did some exploring last night, and realized there actually is a reference point for the graph (the "center frequency" value) :dog:
Still, my first question stands: does it affect the sound beyond the way an EQ does? I'm thinking it may do more with the harmonics of a sound, but clarification would be great!

The resonance window controls a per harmonic adjustment term which varies based upon the base frequency of each oscillator.
Unless I'm mistaken the frequencies are specified in an absolute sense (Hz) in the resonance window.
One of the developers on the ZynAddSubFX open source synth
The author of the Zyn-Fusion UI for ZynAddSubFX

Thanks for the reply! If I understand you, the resonance window adjusts the harmonics of a sound based on it's fundamental frequency. My question, then, is about HOW the resonance window affect the harmonics.

For example, if I draw a dip in the graph around 1000hz, does it