Mixing with the DAW's plugins

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Effects Discussion
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi everyone,
I'm a musician and i make my music in Studio One 2, and when i see on youtube tutorial about mixing bass guitar i foud only tutorials using generally Waves plugins.
So my question is : How did people used to do before there was these plugins? is it possible to make a correct and professional mix with the DAW's built in plugins?
Sorry if my english is bad i hope you understood me.
Thanks.

Well, technically the Waves plugins were the first real plugins in the world.

But depending on the host you can mix with the DAW plugins as easily. Just often third party plugins are more comfortable to use or have more features that you might need.
No signature here!

I think, before plugins, there was more focus on getting the performance nailed in the first place...

It's totally possible to create a great mix with Studio One's stock plugins. The only thing lacking is saturation/tape emulation type plugins. Try and focus on the principles of what's happening in the videos rather than the actual plugins used.
Mastering from £30 per track \\\
Facebook \\\ #masteredbyloz

Yes, you most definitely can create an excellent mix using only the tools that came bundled with your DAW.

Don't fall into the trap of assuming that if your mixes aren't as good as you'd like the answer is buying some more plugins. The entire industry that KVR is devoted to exists because new and casual users don't understand how to use the plugins they already have.

do_androids_dream wrote:I think, before plugins, there was more focus on getting the performance nailed in the first place...

It's totally possible to create a great mix with Studio One's stock plugins. The only thing lacking is saturation/tape emulation type plugins. Try and focus on the principles of what's happening in the videos rather than the actual plugins used.