How do I master my tracks as loud as commercial EDM tracks?

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey guys,

I'm an EDM producer and was wondering if any of you knew how professionals master their track so loud. I have an attached picture comparing two tracks (mine and a pros).

The first on is mine (I mix at a low volume), the second one is a real commercial track.

Are there any good videos online explaining how to do this?

Thank you!
Robin
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Dynamic range looks roughly the same, only yours has less gain. Try a limiter to chop off some of the errant peaks, if that doesn't work, go back to your mix and make it cleaner but cutting more frequencies.

But to look at the bigger picture, the loudness war has to bottom out somewhere, presumably before the entire song becomes a modulated squarewave. Yes, try for a loud mix if you're doing dance but ultimately it's the content that engages the listener on any meaningful level. At least, that's what I keep telling myself :hihi:
http://sendy.bandcamp.com/releases < My new album at Bandcamp! Now pay what you like!

As you can see Martin Garrix song is badly and very lightly mastered - you can see it still has blue color in the background. It should be whole white no matter how deep you zoom in the waveform..

sonicpowa wrote:As you can see Martin Garrix song is badly and very lightly mastered - you can see it still has blue color in the background. It should be whole white no matter how deep you zoom in the waveform..
Haha love the answer and the video. I understand some of you might not like this type of audio mastering, but my question wasn't asking if you could criticize it.

But I like this type of mastering and Garrix song is so not-loud.. It loses its potential from bad mastering. LOUDER!!