Weird Peaks In My Master

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello,

I am still a newb at mastering my tracks, and I am getting these weird straggling hits in my wav when I bring it into Audacity to preview and bring up the gain if I need to.

What I need help with is making sure my tracks are nice and tidy and no offending wave hits.

So my route for this track went as followed using Ableton 9.6, mastered it to be right about, or just under 0dB and export to wav (was doing AIFF, but decided otherwise.) then I brought it into Audacity for a final once over before I call it good and test the track on some random equipment/speakers configs.

Here are some pics, and hope that helps. I should also note that I am not peaking out or going above 0 at anytime despite the graphic representation.

Thanks for any advice!
Screen Shot 2016-06-12 at 1.25.35 PM.png
Screen Shot 2016-06-12 at 1.25.48 PM.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

This is what clippers and limiters are for. Especially graphical limiter will tell you when the track is about to clip.

Of course if the situation occurs often, you should track back this sound and make it quiter, or different altogether.
Blog ------------- YouTube channel
Tricky-Loops wrote: (...)someone like Armin van Buuren who claims to make a track in half an hour and all his songs sound somewhat boring(...)

Darn those pesky dynamics!! lol ;)

Go back to the individual tracks and figure out what sound it is (I'm guessing a kick or snare) and then use a soft clipper to try to limit the peaks on that individual track without affecting the sound too much.
Mastering from £30 per track \\\
Facebook \\\ #masteredbyloz