Linux...anybody using it?

Audio Plugin Hosts and other audio software applications discussion
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Thinking of trying out Linux on my laptop(not my main music rig) and wanted to know what people think about the os before I take the plunge...i have posted this topic on a pc based forum and the majority say go with Linux but they are prolly all pc nerds so I can't judge on that alone,I will be using props reason to so that has to work,I'm a complete Linux noob so some guidance is needed...is it worth it or am I off my rocker with this one
live 11 / Arturia collection / many Softube plug ins / thats it

As far as i know Reason won't work on a linux system. And if you want my personal opinion, for audio stuff, i would stick to Windows or MacOS. Linux audio can be quite a pain in the butt to set up, plus most software never has and never will leave alpha status, and therefor is not stable.

chk071 wrote: Linux audio can be quite a pain in the butt to set up, plus most software never has and never will leave alpha status, and therefor is not stable.
Honestly, this pretty much sums up Linux in general for me--not just for audio usage. I think most people can respect the ideal of an open OS, but it's just too much trouble to do anything on it, figure out how everything works, get all your drivers working, etc., let alone get it primed for high-demand audio production.

Certainly doesn't sum up linux in general - if you've a support agreement with IBM, etc, you can be pretty sure your servers will work for the workload you've agreed... but yeah, Linux audio - much as I love linux and want it to work - is a pain. And it shouldn't be. The reasons are, to me, entirely down to political in-fighting. The point about IBM linux servers is quite pertinent. In that environment, there's a clear desire for spending large amounts of money on a working product. Who gets into Linux audio to spend large amounts of money..?